Photoshop

Splash Screen – Design

So I got a wordpress theme and decided to make a splash screen which was at the top with one of my own because the orginal one, though was amazing but I couldnt actually understand what it was. So I opened photoshop entered the dimensions: 761×151 px how do i know that ? well in the themes section in the wordpress admin clicking on the custom image header shows these dimensions. Ok for the splash screen I had something in mind to make a garage with some grass and a guy with a shovel, something like a typical garage environment at the same time I wanted it to be all black white and shades of gray.Initially I made an ellipse assigned it the color grey and moved it down so one part of it stayed up the rest of it down, which doesnt get included so no harm done.

Splash Screen-Ground

The next step was to add grass. I looked around for a while searching google for some grass images but then this heart shape in photoshop kept bothering me so I clicked it and voila i see lots of shapes. Scrolling through them I saw grass. Made a layer with grass and copied them by clicking ‘alt’ and dragging them  all around the ground area. There are alot of custom shapes availible, I used grass 2 there was others aswell but just a personal choice.

Grass

Now for the garage. I grabbed the garage image from http://www.firstdaycottage.com/images/GarageSketch.jpg. Now to remove its background so i could place it on the ground area I opened this image used the magic wand tool and selected the white area. Then right clicked and selected the “Select Inverse” option which gives you the inverse, the not selected area which is the garage and there you have it.

removing-background

The cycle , shovels even the man digging his own grave 😀 is from photoshop custom shapes, thats pretty much there is to the splashscreen/banner/ watever u wanna call it.

3 thoughts on “Splash Screen – Design

  1. Thanks :D…dont know lol it came with this stupid windows vista =/ there were features locked in it aswell… i think some trial version still I managed to make a header…

  2. I was wondering if you ever considered changing the
    layout of your blog? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.

    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with
    it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or two images.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

Leave a Reply

